Help Us Guide You Better
best online ias coaching in india

Download Pdf


Pre-Specific GK

Ministry of Culture

President of India to present Gandhi Peace Prize in the national capital tomorrow

Posted On: 25 FEB 2019 5:30PM by PIB Delhi

President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind will present the Gandhi Peace Prize for the years 2015, 2016, 2017 & 2018 tomorrow, the 26th Feb, 2019 at Darbar Hall, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi. Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will also attend the award Ceremony to felicitate the awardees.


The awardees are as below


1. Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari for the year 2015.

2. Akshaya Patra Foundation and Sulabh International for the year 2016 (Jointly).

3. Ekal Abhiyan Trust for the year 2017.

4. Sh Yohei Sasakawa for the year 2018.

(Click here to read more about the works of the awardees)

Gandhi Peace Prize for Social, Economic and Political transformation through Non-violence was instituted in the year 1995. The Award comprises an amount of Rs. One Crore and a Citation.

Ministry of Culture, Government of India, invites nominations of persons/organizations in accordance with the provisions of Section 1 of Chapter IV of the Code of Procedure. The Award may be divided between two persons / institutions who are considered by the Jury to be equally deserving of recognition in a given year. Work by a person since deceased cannot be the subject of an Award.  If, however, his death occurred subsequent to a proposal having been submitted to the Jury in the manner stipulated in the Code of Procedure, then a Posthumous Award may be made.

As per para 2 of Chapter VI of Code of Procedure of Gandhi Peace Prize, the Jury shall comprise of the following persons:-


Prime Minister of India

Chairman (ex-officio)


Chief Justice of India

Member (ex-officio)


Leader of the Opposition recognized as such in the Lok Sabha or where there is no such Leader of Opposition then, the Leader of the single largest opposition party in that House

Member (ex-officio)


Eminent person

Nominated Member


Eminent person

Nominated member


Smt Sumitra Mahajan, Speaker, Lok Sabha and Sh. L.K.Advani, Member of Parliament were nominated by Chairman of the Jury i.e Prime Minister of India as members on the Jury of Gandhi Peace Prize for a period of three years         (3rd May, 2017 to 2nd May, 2020).

This annual award is given to individuals, associations, institutions or organizations who have worked selflessly for peace, non-violence and amelioration of human sufferings particularly of the less-privileged section of society contributing towards social justice and harmony. The Award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender. Normally, contributions made during ten years immediately preceding the nomination are considered.  Older contributions may also be considered if their significance has not become apparent recently.


Past Awardees

The details of prize conferred to individuals and organizations from the year of its inception in 1995 to till date are given hereunder:-


YEAR             AWARDED TO

1995               Dr.Julius K.Nyerere, former President of Tanzania

1996               Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne, Founder President of Sarvodaya Sharamadana Movement, Sri Lanka.

1997               Dr. Gerhard Fischer of Germany

1998               Rama Krishna Mission (India)

1999               Baba Amte (Murlidhar Devidas Amte) (India)

2000               Dr. Nelson Mandela and Grameen Bank of  Bangladesh (jointly)

2001               Dr. John Hume, Ireland

2002               Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan

2003               Mr. Vaclav Havel, former President of Czechoslovakia

2005               Archbishop Desmond Tutu, South Africa

2013               Sh.Chandi Prasad Bhatt

2014               Indian Space Research Organisation

This prize was not awarded for the years 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.




(Release ID: 1566242) Visitor Counter : 478

Read this release in: Hindi , Marathi

© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com