Help Us Guide You Better
best online ias coaching in india

Download Pdf


Pre-Specific GK

Justice P.C. Ghose  

Former Supreme Court judge Pinaki Chandra Ghose became the first Lokpal of the country with his appointment to the post along with eight members on Tuesday.

The President has appointed Justice Ghose as Lokpal or anti-corruption watchdog ombudsman. Besides him, other judicial members are Justices Dilip B Bhosale, P.K. Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari and A.K. Tripathi.

The non-judicial members are Dinesh Kumar Jain, Archana Ramasundaram, Mahender Singh, and Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.

Former SSB chief

Ms. Ramasundaram is former Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) chief, while Mr. Jain is former Maharashtra Chief Secretary. Mr. Gautam is former IAS officer of Gujarat cadre and was Municipal Commissioner of Ahmedabad and Principal Secretary (Urban Development) in Gujarat.

Justice Ghose’s appointment has come nearly five years after the Lokpal Act was notified on January 16, 2014. The law was passed in 2013 following a countrywide anti-corruption movement.

The members of the Lokpal will include eight members — former High Court judges and civil servants.

Already a user? Sign In

To know more about Ad free news reading experience and subscription Click Here

or Please remove the Ad Blocker

© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com