Help Us Guide You Better
best online ias coaching in india

Download Pdf

Indian Polity

Election Commissioners are members of the Election Commission (EC), the constitutional body tasked with ensuring the conduct of free and fair elections. They are usually retired civil servants, and are appointed by the President. The EC was helmed by a single Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) since the body was set up in 1950. In 1989, two more Election Commissioners were appointed but their tenure ended in 1990. Thereafter, in 1993, two Election Commissioners were again appointed. Since then the EC has been a three-member panel. The tenure of the CEC and Election Commissioners lasts six years, or up to the time they attain the age of 65, whichever is earlier. They receive the same pay as a judge of the Supreme Court. Their decisions are taken by a majority vote.


Please enter a valid email address.

Join our online subscriber community

Experience an advertisement-free site with article recommendations tailored for you

Already a user? Sign In

To know more about Ad free news reading experience and subscription Click Here

or Please whitelist our website on your Adblocker

© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com